NNPC report

ILECCIMA Celebrates NACCIMA@60 With Grants For Micro Businesses In Ijeshaland

Ilesa Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (ILECCIMA) is celebrating NACCIMA@60 with Charity Grants to twenty women-led, micro businesses from Ilesa East and West Local Government Areas of Osun State.

ILECCIMA is a member of Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) which was established in the year 1960. ILECCIMA is an incorporated Chamber of Commerce, limited by guarantee, and committed to the economic development of its jurisdiction, through advocacy, capacity building, business development linkages, and entrepreneurship in Ijesaland, Osun State and beyond.

In commemorating the 60th Anniversary of Chambers’ Movement in Nigeria, ILECCIMA considered the empowerment of informal businesses at the base of the local economic pyramid as a means of mitigating the impact of COVID-19 and contributing to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals One and Five (Goal 1: Ending poverty in every ramification by 2030) and (Goal 5: Achieve gender equality and empower women and girls). Furthermore, it is one of the avenues designed by the Chamber to impact the informal sector of businesses in Ijesaland and to reach out to the lowest rung of our economic ladder.
At least 20 female owned micro food production businesses and farm produce trades such as Ogi, Eko, Mama-put food , Moin-moin, Gaari, Plantain chips, Potatoes chips, Confectionaries, Boiled rice and beans, Boiled yam and stew, Vegetable trade, Fruits trade, Palm-Oil and Soap making were selected out of the 60 applications received within a week.
A day seminar on basic business skills was organized for the awardees at Ilesa Business School. Some of the skills learnt were business goal setting, business communication skills, marketing skills, negotiation skill, financial management skills, and networking skills. The participants were also guided to apply for the Federal Government free registration of business names. Also, the beneficiaries were constituted into a Cooperative Society, while an Awards Ceremony to formally present the Grants and Certificate of Training to the beneficiaries was organized on Thursday the 12th of November 2020.
In attendance at the event were Arc Ayo Osunloye (President), Hon Sola Joshua (1st Deputy President), Mrs Oluyemisi Olukanni (2nd Deputy President), Mrs Moji Fapohunda (Asst Treasurer), Mr Demola Tejumola (PRO), Mrs Funmi Olujide (Member), Mr Femi Kazeem (Financial Secretary), and Dr Olu Olujide (Executive Secretary). Beneficiaries were enjoined to use the grants for the purpose for which it was given. The leader of the group, Mrs Riike Akinsete appreciated the support, and officially announced the name of the Cooperative Society as Fulfillment Cooperative Society. She further announced the names of members of her executive committee, Mrs Damilola Adagun (Vice President), Mrs Nifemi Akinloye (General Secretary), Mrs Oluyemi Ibukun (PRO) and Mrs Jelila Kelani (Treasurer).