Buhari appoints economic adviser, four others

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday administered oaths of office on four special advisers and one permanent secretary at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The brief ceremony took place shortly before the commencement of a meeting of the Federal Executive Council which the President presided over.

Those inaugurated included the Special Adviser on Social Investment, Mrs. Maryam Uwais; Special Adviser on Political Matter, Senator Babafemi Ojudu; Special Adviser on Economic Matters, Dr. Adeyemi Dipeolu; Special Adviser on Planning, Tijani Abdullahi; and the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Rafiu Enikanolaye.

While Uwais, Ojudu and Dipeolu were deployed in the Office of the Vice-President, Abdullahi was deployed in the Ministry of Budget and National Planning.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, many ministers; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Babachir Lawal; Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Mrs. Winifred Oyo-Ita; some permanent secretaries, presidential aides and other top government officials witnessed the event.

The brief ceremony was also witnessed by some members of the immediate families of the appointees.

The four special advisers were among the 15 approved for Buhari by the National Assembly last year.

Some others had since assumed duties having been earlier inaugurated.